Awards | American Bus Association


Recognizing Excellence in the Motorcoach Industry

The motorcoach industry has a rich history marked by talented individuals. The American Bus Association confers several awards to recognize and celebrate the progress, humanitarian spirit and long-standing achievement of key individuals and leading organizations. These awards are presented annually at ABA’s Marketplace.

The Awards

Motorcoach Driver of the Year Award

The Motorcoach Driver of the Year Award recognizes an individual who has gone above and beyond the performance of his or her duties as an Over-The-Road Motorcoach Driver, professionally executing safe motorcoach operation, while providing the traveling public with the safest form of passenger transportation in the United States. More

Women in Buses Award

The Women in Buses Award is presented to someone who works to fulfill the Council’s mission and has demonstrated a high level of leadership in the motorcoach industry during his or her career. More

Women in Buses Operational Excellence Award

This award is given to an individual who displays excellence in service to their organization.  This includes customer operations, drivers, mechanics, sales or any other impactful area in the  travel and tourism industry  This award is presented by Motor Coach Industries. More

BUSRide Good Stewardship Award

This award is presented by BUSRide Magazine to an individual who has been and continues to be a “Good Steward” and leader in the industry.

Leadership & Environmental Sustainability Award by MCI

The ABA’s Leadership & Environmental Sustainability Award, sponsored by Motor Coach Industries (MCI), recognizes motorcoach industry leaders for their investment in environmentally responsible equipment and the adoption of green business practices.  Nominations must be received by Dec. 1. More

Lifetime Achievement Award

The ABA Lifetime Achievement Award seeks to recognize individuals who have demonstrated significant dedication to the motorcoach, travel, and tourism industry. For more information about this award, contact ABA at

Norm Littler Memorial Safety Award

The Norm Littler Memorial Safety Award presented by the American Bus Association and the Bus Industry Safety Council recognizes an individual or organization that has made significant contributions to the profession of safety. The award is named after ABA’s former Vice President of Regulatory Affairs Norm Littler, who was one of the industry’s leading experts when it came to safety. More

Metro Magazine’s Innovative Operator

In cooperation with Metro Magazine and Bobit Media, the Innovative Operator Award is presented to a motorcoach company that provide customers a high-level of service through innovative efforts. More

Serendipity Magazine TODAY Award

This award began in 2015 at ABA’s Marketplace in St. Louis. It is presented by Serendipity Media to a company or individual tour operator who uses creativity to grow their business.

Wayne Chandler Spirit of Partnership Award

The Wayne Chandler Spirit of Partnership Award recognizes an individual who creatively works within the group travel industry to build partnerships for the promotion of all tourism market segments and destinations. More

The American Bus Association serves a thriving industry that provides nearly 600 million passenger trips annually on charters, tours, scheduled service, and shuttles. Membership in ABA includes motorcoach operators, tour operators, tourism-related organizations, and products and service suppliers.

© 2011 - 2024 American Bus Association