Section 5317 – New Freedom Grants (ADA 2.0) | American Bus Association

Section 5317 – New Freedom Grants (ADA 2.0)

The purpose of this grant program is to provide additional tools to overcome existing barriers facing Americans with disabilities seeking integration into the work force and full participation in society.  Lack of adequate transportation is a primary barrier to work for individuals with disabilities. The New Freedom formula grant program seeks to reduce barriers to transportation services and expand the transportation mobility options available to people with disabilities beyond the requirements of the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) of 1990.

Administrative Body

This program is administered by the State Departments of Transportation on behalf of the Federal Transit Administration.


Eligible activities for New Freedom grants include capital and operating costs of equipment, facilities, and associated capital maintenance items related to providing accessibility to disabled persons.

Examples of eligible activities include enhancing accessible transportation for disabled persons beyond the minimum requirements of the ADA, feeder services, making accessibility improvements to transit and intermodal stations not designated as key stations, travel training, purchasing vehicles to support new accessible taxi, ride sharing, and/or vanpooling programs, supporting the administration and expenses related to new voucher programs for transportation services offered by human service providers, supporting new volunteer driver and aide programs, and supporting new mobility management and coordination programs among public transportation providers and other human service agencies providing public transportation.

The American Bus Association serves a thriving industry that provides nearly 600 million passenger trips annually on charters, tours, scheduled service, and shuttles. Membership in ABA includes motorcoach operators, tour operators, tourism-related organizations, and products and service suppliers.

© 2011 - 2024 American Bus Association